MY 5AM PRODUCTIVE MORNING ROUTINE

hgjh

i was never a morning a bird, never thought an night owl like I was would be an early bird; I always believed that I was the last one to go asleep because I loved night I spent years with that thought but then and after 10 years of sleeping till 3 or 4am and waking up late I finally realized that it wasn’t actually for me …

WHY DID I START WAKING UP EARLY?

555.png

I’m a cancer girl, but mostly I’m a human and of course I need my space … I need my bubble where I can curl for some time and just enjoy myself, but I couldn’t do that during the day not with everyone knocking at my door every minute to ask for something, I get irritated but I can’t do anything about it. And a few months ago I discovered that the reason I so enjoyed staying up late is because I was alone … it’s as simple as that.

Doing so mush at the same time can get overwhelming and if I don’t get time to unwind things can get ugly, but at the same time it was very difficult to keep up with my night schedule and be up early for college, so I decided to switch it up…

I can’t remember the exact moment I decided that but I’m glad I did because it helped a lot ….

HOW I PLANNED MY MORNINGS?

888.png

At first I started with 6am and of course I needed a plan; so I asked myself what are the things that help me calm down and I wrote them down:

The things I want to do when I’m completely alone before everyone is awake:

  • Workout
  • Yoga
  • Journal
  • Draw
  • Read

Those are the five main things that I did when I woke up, but after a couple of weeks, that one hour from 6am to 7am wasn’t enough so I switched it up to 5am and got myself two hours and to be honest that was the best decision I made probably my entire life (Besides the time I decided to cut my own hair). By waking up at 5am I got myself some well-deserved alone-time with no interruption.

MY MORNING ROUTINE FOR 5AM:

bggg.jpg

Like I mentioned, waking up early was the best decision I’ve made, it gave me the control I thought I lost over my life, and a typical morning looks mostly like this:

  • First of all I set two alarms (because it’s hard to go from sleeping at 4am to actually waking up at 5am), so I set two alarms: the first on my phone that was always by my bed and the other one is on my desk a little far from me, both at 5am but with a couple of minutes apart so for the second one I have to physically get out of bed to set it off … So the hard part is done.
  • So before I get into my bed again, I make myself go to the bathroom to wash my face (Just splash it with cold water) and actually wake up.
  • Now fresh, I got back to my room and it’s time … to make my bed … And just a clarification, I don’t make my bed because I’m afraid I’ll crawl back(trust me even if I make it I can still crawl back to it), I make my bed because I like my room to be neat.
  • Most people recommend to stay away from technology for the first hour, but I turn on my laptop for two reasons: First of all because I work out with videos from YouTube so I need my laptop for that and second because one of the things I enjoy during my mornings is writing and I also need my laptop for that.

       So now that I’m awake I pull out my mat and ‘Get to work … out’. Mostly I do abs + other workout depending on the day +Yoga (which is about 30-35 minutes all), and I’m not overreacting when I say that I really feel so energized after I finish.

        Now that my body is up, I need to wake my brain and what’s the best way to do that more than Reading/Writing. Every day before I do anything else I read at least 10 pages from a book (Currently reading ‘The subtle art of not giving a f***’ by Mark Manson), once I’m done reading I write a bit and that also depends on my mood, I either write a blog post, a chapter of one of my stories or even journal, It doesn’t matter what you write what matters is to get the brain working and get some words on paper … and sometimes I get carried away … oops!

  • By now it’s 7am (give or take a few minutes) and it’s time to get ready for a productive day so first things first
  • Go back to the bathroom and wash my face properly this time with my daily cleanser (Clean and Clear Morning Burst).
  • Back to my room, I apply my toner (I’m currently using one I got from Miniso) + and my moisturizer (Nivea Rich Moisturising day cream for dry and sensitive skin).
  • Time to change: I tried to plan my outfits before but it never worked, because I always don’t like the outfit I picked the next morning … so I just wear what I feel like it in the morning.
  • Once I’m all changed, it’s time to look presentable because by now I still have my hair in a messy little pigtail (because I have very short hair); I’m more of a “no-make up” girl, the only thing I wear is Mascara if I really feel fancy (MAC In extreme Dimension Waterproof Mascara) and chapStick is a must because it’s so cold outside.
  • …And I’m ready to smash the day.
  • For my to-do list I always write it the night before so right when I wake up, I can start checking things out.
  • Now that we are ready, it’s time for breakfast; And another information about me, I’m doing intermittent fasting and more specifically O.M.A.D ( I’ll do a whole Blog about it soon), so breakfast in the only meal I eat, so don’t judge me if I get too excited about breakfast LOL.I prepare myself a filling breakfast and my daily Iced Coffee (Because we LOVE coffee)
  • Okay now I look presentable, and my belly is full I grab my back pack and head out the door to catch the bus (by now it’s 8:30 am and the bus arrives at 8:45am). So if I have Classes I head to Campus and if I don’t I head to my usual coffee shop for a very long study grind.

88.jpg

I hope you liked this blog make sure to leave A Like if you enjoyed it. Till the next blog…

                                                                                              HEATHER

8 comments

Leave a comment