5 SIGNS YOU ARE OVERTHINKING…

 

20191121_120239.png

Easier said than done; overthinking is a part of my daily routine, if there was an award, I would definitely make it top three. I overthink everything around me.

Overthinking is a very common issue nowadays, and is linked to mental health.

When your mental health decline, your overthink a lot and the other way around goes too, it’s really easy to get caught in this spiral and very hard to get out of, the ore you overthink, you start believing that it is actually helping you make better decisions, our brain tricks us into believing that the more we think about something, the better chances we are to find the best solution…

Which is not entirely true, it’s actually the exact opposite … the more you think about something, the more anxiety and fear you feel and those negative emotions cloud your judgment and you end up making an impulse decisions after months of overthinking.

 

20191121_120926.png

Overthinking can change between individuals, it could be dwelling over the past or worrying about the future; either way, overthinking is focusing and feeling bad about everything we have no control over, which is purely useless.

Over thinkers are everywhere and they all feel like they are alone, but they are not. Overthinking is an issue most of us deal with, and not everyone can recognize it.

It took me years to realize it and try to change it, so in the rest of this blog, you’ll have the 5 signs you are a fellow overthinker.

1/ Keep reliving embarrassing moments:

One thing that I did the most and that had ruined my life the most is keep reliving all those embarrassing moments I lived; the words I shouldn’t have said and the thing I shouldn’t have done. And I’m not overestimating when I say that it ruined me. Obsessing over thing you can change can actually ruin you.

2/ Thinking about what I should have said:

Another problem that I can’t do anything about is what I should have said. I’m very sure that almost everyone agrees on this one, but I always keep thinking about what I should have said to that person at that day and if you don’t try to stop it, you can go insane. Thinking about the things you didn’t say to a rude person or during an argument is bad because not only you are overthinking something you can’t change but you are also beating yourself up and that never ends well, you will end up abusing yourself and I don’t mean it in the physical way, if you think about what you should have said more often, you’ll end up hating yourself for it and with time, it could become unhealthy. To be honest, just like always I have done exactly that yesterday, once my day was over and I was in bed, I kept thinking about an encounter I had with a rude man earlier, he was an old man so I didn’t reply to his nasty comment, but once I was alone, I kept thinking about all the things I could have said to him but thankfully, I pulled myself from that vicious spiral and tried to focus on something else.

3/ What if …?

Here is another one of the signs that can go by unnoticed, but it’s already so obvious. “What if…?”… “What if i fail?”… “What if he didn’t leave?”… “What if he thinks I’m bad?”… “What if she doesn’t like me?” … those are poison not questions.

A lot of ‘what ifs’ is bad, like really bad. Questioning everything is the recipe not for failure, but for not trying at all… if you keeping asking all those what ifs questions, you will get nowhere, you’ll just keep ‘overthinking’ about things and will end up not doing anything, being too afraid to fail, too afraid to be rejected basically to afraid to get hurt, but failure is a part of it, if you don’t fail, you’ll never succeed.

4/ Searching for second meaning for what people say:

This one is bad for you as well as the people around you, because just like you keep thinking about what you should have said, you always second guess what people say to you. I did that a not back in the days, honestly I still do it, but not as much, I always find second meanings to what people tell me, and I end up understanding sometimes the opposite of what that person is actually meaning which affects my relationship with the person, I could either confront them about my irrational ideas or just not tell them but hold a grudge and either way I am unfair to both me and the aid person.

5/ Struggling to shut your brain off and sleep:

Last but not least, overthinking is what you need for a long sleepless and restless night, when I am overthinking, it’s IMPOSIIBLE for me to shut of my mind and rest and sometimes even when I sleep, the second I wake up, I’m back into overthinking and I don’t feel like I’ve rested, it just feels like I closed my eyes and opened them again.

Sleepless nights are the worst, when you are already anxious and unsecure, not resting will only make things worse and it did for me, many many times, and those nights lead to anxiety and anger attacks and things got ugly.

20191121_120549.png

 

I try to be as transparent as I can as long as keeping some things private but overthinking was a real issue in my life, it caused so many problems in my life and I have worked hard to recognize these symptoms and stop myself when I catch myself doing that.

For all of you out there, you are not alone, overthinking is a viral problem, but because no one actually talks about it, we end up feeling lonely. You are not alone guys … I hope this blog helped you even a little bit.

 

Thank you for staying till the end

Till next time…

Heather.

 

 

 

 

More posts you might like:

 

 

6 comments

  1. I do everything you said here. I remember every embarrassing or stupid thing I’ve ever done, and I feel the shame all over again. I beat myself up over things I wish I had said or done, maybe yesterday, or maybe 30 years ago. In the past I have traveled so far down the “what if” path that I started building alternate realities for myself and being angry that they didn’t exist. At bedtime, I sometimes ruminate and churn these things over and over long into the night. It is a form of self-abuse, and I accept it because that’s what I was taught when I was young. … I’m glad you are realizing these things at a younger age than I did. Hopefully it will help you heal faster.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment